Welcome to Doors Open Days Blog!

Hello! Welcome to the brand new Doors Open Days blog, my name’s Gillian and I’ve just started volunteering with the Scottish Civic Trust as a Marketing Support Officer. I’ll be updating the blog over the next couple of months to bring you lots of information about Doors Open Days, behind the scenes news and features, and my experiences working as a volunteer for the Scottish Civic Trust. This is my first day on the job and I can’t wait to get stuck in; remember to subscribe to the blog and sign up for email updates if you’d like to keep updated with all things blog-related. Pauline, the Trust’s Events and Development Officer, has shown me the ropes this morning, giving me a quick tour of the building and a little introduction to what the Trust does. My induction has been done, my Volunteer Agreement has been signed, and now I’m ready to go!

Scottish Civic Trust HQ

The Scottish Civic Trust is based in Glasgow’s rather beautiful Merchant City, and the Trust is the national organisation in charge of co-ordinating the Doors Open Days project. I’ll mainly be working on the blog and the social media accounts (come and say hi on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest too!) to bring you lots of news about Doors Open Days, as well as hearing all about your experiences at Doors Open Days events. Please feel free to tweet us or leave a comment on Facebook or the blog to let us know all about your Doors Open Days plans.

So, a little about myself. I currently live through in Edinburgh as I’ve just finished up my Masters in Scottish History at the University of Edinburgh. I handed in my dissertation last week, and even though I’ve really enjoyed writing it, it’s definitely a relief to have it all done and dusted now! Throughout my time at university I’ve fallen in love with all things Scottish history and heritage related, so I’m really looking forward to being involved in Doors Open Days as it’s a project which really promotes the importance of learning about our country’s built heritage at the same time as having fun and getting the whole family involved. I’ll be keeping a close eye on the website to work out which buildings I’d like to visit during September; did you know you can make your own personalised schedule of events through the website with the My List feature? Definitely much easier than scribbling everything down in my diary!

Doors Open Days Workspace

Doors Open Days Brochures

Today I’m sharing an office with Patrick, who is busy just now writing up an eBulletin featuring the main themes of this year’s Doors Open Days events. We’re knee deep (only a slight exaggeration!) in Doors Open Days brochures from various regions across the country; I’m currently sandwiched between a big stack of Glasgow brochures on one side and some leaflets from my home city of Aberdeen on the other. In amongst all that, I’m getting the blog set up, familiarising myself with the social media accounts and discussing some ideas and online strategies with Pauline. I’ve got my trusty notebook with me to keep track of all my ideas and stay organised, and my camera is on hand to document it all along the way. During my time volunteering, I’m looking forward to getting involved with the Trust’s social media accounts and interacting with all of you, as well as bringing you regular updates from behind the scenes. Everyone at the Trust is super busy in the run up to Doors Open Days, so that’s where volunteers like me can help out by taking over some of the marketing, PR and social media tasks. Volunteers are a vital part of the events themselves too and the Doors Open Days programme wouldn’t be able to run without them. Did you know an amazing 5,000+ volunteers help every year? Keep an eye out on the blog for features and interviews with some of our volunteers who work hard every year to ensure Doors Open Days is a great success.

Notebook

Over the next few weeks I’ll be updating the blog and bringing you a wide variety of posts to read, I can’t wait to get writing. I hope you enjoy reading the blog and getting a sneak peek behind the doors of Doors of Open Days HQ! Stay tuned for the next post, where I’ll be telling you all about the Doors Open Day National Launch event at Paisley Abbey, plus there will be competitions, a who’s who of Scottish Civic Trust volunteers and lots more to look forward to over the next few weeks!

About doorsopendays

Doors Open Days is Scotland’s largest free annual architectural event. It is coordinated nationally by the Scottish Civic Trust.
This entry was posted in Doors Open Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

